Toad In The Hole…

.

img_7213.jpg

Tonight’s dish is Toad in the Hole. It is 11:45pm but I have just received my Fresh Direct order and I’m excited, slightly drunk and hungry

 

What I believe to be the “Toad”:

  • 4 Spicy Italian Sausages

What I believe to be the “Hole”:

  • 2 tbsp of Plain Flour
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 Cup of Milk (At least 2%)

What I know to be the Red Onion Marmalade:

  • 1 Red Onion
  • 1 tbsp of Fresh (or Dried) Thyme
  • 1/3 cup of Balsamic
  • 2 tsp of Brown Sugar
  • 1 tsp of Plain Flour
  • 1/2 Stock Cube
  • Water to dilute

Directions:

Cook the sausages in a casserole for 15 minutes at 400F, or until browned. Whilst they’re cooking, you can make the batter. You do this by making a well in the flour to receive the eggs and whisk until smooth, add the milk, continue to whisk and then leave to stand.

Note: Make sure that the mixture is not too cold as it will crack the casserole. This happened to me once and I cried for a week, but maybe that was more to do with the boiling fat that had just dripped on my foot?!

img_7202.jpgimg_7210.jpg

When the toads are suitably brown, turn the oven up another 50F, pour in the batter and cook for approx 35-45 minutes.

Whilst the toad contemplates jumping into the hole (or does the hole paradoxically grow around the toad?) you can make the red onion marmalade. To do this, sweat the onions with some olive oil, thyme and flour. When things dry up, (as they will always do) add the balsamic vinegar. Simmer away for a while, (you have a probable 30 minutes whilst the other ingredients are doing their thing) add the stock and water to required flavor and consistency and then put aside but keep warm. I have always found a snugly fitting pan lid does the trick nicely.

When the 35-40 minutes are up, or you are just too curious, it is time to check the oven and see what is happening. It wants to look fluffy but not too burnt… firm to the touch, but succulent and soft in the center. You get the idea… You can very easily test it with a knife and see how it looks on the inside if you’re not too sure.

When all is ready, devour

img_7213.jpg

 

Reflections:

I remember my Bampie (a Welsh term for one’s grandfather) used to make the best Yorkshire puddings in the world… they were so awesome that they could be a savory or a sweet meal. Cover them in gravy, cover them in maple syrup, I didn’t care, they rocked my world either way. One day (although I hope it to be long time away) I want my grand kids to think the same of me!

3 Responses to “Toad In The Hole…”

  1. Aimee said

    Nice!My mum used to make this for us and I loved it! I’ll have to try this.

  2. Tom Wykes said

    We do this a lot but add whole small onions, mushrooms, and cherry tomatoes in with the browned sausages. Very nice and almost a whole meal in one. has to be eaten with baked beans.

  3. [...] 1 yorkshire pudding recipe (20 mini yorkies) [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

